I had a ten year stretch without any dental care. Thankfully, none of my teeth were destroyed, but there have been a good lot of cavities to contend with. A low grade chronic infection in the teeth or gums can contribute to sinus pain and overall poor health. There is too much else going on with my health to afford that kind of burden. I am so happy to be nearly done correcting the state of my teeth!

  • Flossing makes a difference! I flossed when I felt like it, but the bacteria between teeth must be disrupted daily. Ignoring this step gave me cavities at nearly every point my teeth make contact with one another. Now I’ve been an avid flosser for a couple of years, my gums have no tenderness and never bleed. If nothing else, think of it as saving $$,$$$ you could be using elsewhere.
  • Toothpaste choice is tricky. Some say fluoride is a must while others say it’s an unnecessary, toxic ingredient. I’ve settled on a Japanese Apgard brand. It doesn’t feel too strong, gets the plaque down, and is supposed to help remineralize teeth.
  • Electric toothbrushes seem the way to go. I just hate the tiny screws in the back that I know are just chock full of bacteria. We also replace toothbrushes every time someone gets a cold, which is a lot cheaper with plain multi-pack toothbrushes from the dollar store. Ultimately, “it’s the motion, not the potion” that gets things clean, so just brushing regularly makes a better difference than the products you get.

Tip: Use a UV light (like for curing gel nail polish) to sanitize toothbrushes!

Here’s a list of videos touching on this subject:


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started